New Blog Theme

Posted by knorby on December 26, 2008 under blogs, wordpress | 4 Comments to Read

I decided to use a new theme. I am not very happy with the new one, but it fixes a few bugs that were in the last one, and creates a whole bunch of new ones. The sidebar RSS feeds aren’t displaying for one. There are some links placed at the bottom of the page. The color scheme is different, which I don’t mind terribly; I generally prefer black(ish) backgrounds, but a lot of partial html content sets the font color to black, which has been a problem a couple of times. I will look into the RSS feed problem at some point and fix up the easy stuff, but I don’t like spending a lot of time on themes; CSS is annoying, but php software themes are a crime against nature (not tied to the medium, just the coders who make them). I really wanted to add in gravatars (should set up an account if you haven’t already) to the comments, which was added in wordpress 2.6 or something, and there wasn’t an update to the the theme I was using. It is a simple fix to the comment template, but I was thinking of switching because of other problems anyway, and, as I said, I hate working on the wordpress themes. So, the appearance might change a bit some in the future, but don’t count on it.

I’m on the Google Open Source Blog!

Posted by knorby on June 6, 2008 under ACM, Chicago, GSoC, OpenBSD, blogs, coding, globus, google, personal, uchicago | Read the First Comment

It’s true! Borja wrote up a summary of the GSoC lightening talk event, including pictures. If you don’t know what I look like, I am in both the GSoC student one and the ACM officer one. I really wish I got a haircut before this thing….

Borja linked to our website, which hopefully won’t get too much traffic. It is currently at 359 days of uptime, and I have shooting for a year of uptime before upgrading to the latest and greatest version of OpenBSD.

The Success Blog

Posted by knorby on February 8, 2008 under blogs, humor, internet | Be the First to Comment

Inspired by the fail blog, some friends of mine decided to make the success blog. On it, we post pictures of “successful people being successful.” Essentially, the point is to put up pictures of tools feeling good about themselves, high-fiving each other and such. In general, the site is meant to show off any instance of this skewed sense of success. I suppose it is the sort of humor that appeals to those who think the inspirational posters are as funny in some ways as the parody despair ones. I also registered thesuccesblog.org and thesuccessblog.info. If you have any submissions, send them to me or to thesuccessblog@gmail.com. We will eventually try and get it some publicity (hence wordpress.com), but we need to post more first.

Verifying Techcruch’s Claims about Network Solutions

Posted by knorby on January 10, 2008 under blogs, internet | 2 Comments to Read

TechCrunch ran an article a few hours ago (its about 11PM in Chicago as I write this) titled Network Solutions Using Questionable Tactic to Sell More Domain Names, which claims that Network Solutions, the domain registrar, was using its powers as a registrar in questionable ways to reserve any domain searched on their site, thus locking the searcher into buying it from them for much more than they could get otherwise. I thought this believable, but I decided to put this claim to the test for the fun of it, and it is looking much less true, or at least different from what was reported.

I searched for the domain “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”, as I wanted something that was not going to have been taken, and it was not something I would want. Obviously, if Network Solutions put any filters on the domains they pull this scam on, this one wouldn’t be one. Since they loose nothing from doing it, they have no reason to not pull it for every one. I did my first test using whois on my computer, which appears to search verisign databases:

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

No match for “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”.
>>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Jan 2008 04:20:40 UTC <<<

NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
registrar’s sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
date of the domain name registrant’s agreement with the sponsoring
registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar’s Whois database to
view the registrar’s reported date of expiration for this registration.

TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois
database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and
automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or
modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry
Services’ (“VeriSign”) Whois database is provided by VeriSign for
information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information
about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not
guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query, you agree to abide
by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only
for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data
to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone,
or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation,
repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly
prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to
use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or
query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register
domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right
to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure
operational stability. VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the
Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign
reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
Registrars.

Just for reference, there is a six hour time difference between Central (where I am) and UTC. Also, my clocks are in 24 hour time. Anyway, I then went to networksolutions.com and did a search there. It was about 22:23 Central.

I then got the results. It was marked as available, of course.

The test begins….

I tried godaddy first. This test was immediately after the search at 22:25, so I didn’t expect it to change that fast necessarily, but I figure if it was going to happen, it was going to happen soon…

Whois confirmed the same a minute later…

No match for “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”.
>>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Jan 2008 04:26:33 UTC <<<

Time passed, but still nothing… Godaddy kept on giving me the same page, and about an hour later, whois still said nothing:

No match for “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”.
>>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Jan 2008 05:16:42 UTC <<<

According the the TechCrunch story, they only can keep it for 5 days before they have to pay for it, so it seems like if they can’t get it in an hour, there isn’t much point. It is quite possible that they cut it out as soon as anyone said anything, but that seems dubious. Its all very strange…