• Home
  • About Me
  • Contact

kanorben.net - blog

My personal blog on technology, programming, life, and the random


 

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blogroll

  • Boing Boing
  • BorjaNet
  • Brian Mayer
  • Dean Armstrong’s Blog
  • Ellen Smith’s blog
  • Faraocious
  • Gross or Awesome?
  • Marcus Westin’s Blog
  • Paul Mantz’s Blog
  • Slashdot
  • TechCrunch
  • Tomorrow with Alex Beinstein
  • Valleywag

Personal Sites

  • DOIT Fortune Database
  • My bookmark’s on del.icio.us
  • My CS account page
  • My Facebook Profile
  • My LinkedIn Page
  • My Picasa Albums
  • My Twitter
  • pyXSD
  • The SUCCESS Blog
  • UofC ACM Site

webcomics

  • Questionable Content
  • The Perry Bible Fellowship
  • Welcome To The Future
  • xkcd.com

Meta

  • Register
  • Log in
  • Entries RSS
  • Comments RSS
  • WordPress.org
Add to Google Add to My Yahoo! Subscribe with Bloglines
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Twitter Updates

    RSS My Del.icio.us

    • VX32 Virtual Extension Environment
    • Starting Forth's home-page
    • Quick start - The Open Source Backup Wiki (Amanda, MySQL Backup)
    • Telemarketers - Kill the Calls
    • Ian Bicking: a blog :: Python HTML Parser Performance
    • Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger: Page 5 - launchd
    • MidpSSH | SSH and Telnet client for Mobile devices (MIDP/J2ME)

    RSS My Facebook Posted Items

    • Neave Television ...telly without context
    • Cock Puncher: The Game!
    • Clever Squirrel
    • Thurston Moore Interviews Beck and Mike D
    • Ubersite - How I Ruined My Neighbor's Christmas, New Years, and Birthdays for Years to Come...

    Verifying Techcruch’s Claims about Network Solutions

    January 10th, 2008 by knorby

    TechCrunch ran an article a few hours ago (its about 11PM in Chicago as I write this) titled Network Solutions Using Questionable Tactic to Sell More Domain Names, which claims that Network Solutions, the domain registrar, was using its powers as a registrar in questionable ways to reserve any domain searched on their site, thus locking the searcher into buying it from them for much more than they could get otherwise. I thought this believable, but I decided to put this claim to the test for the fun of it, and it is looking much less true, or at least different from what was reported.

    I searched for the domain “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”, as I wanted something that was not going to have been taken, and it was not something I would want. Obviously, if Network Solutions put any filters on the domains they pull this scam on, this one wouldn’t be one. Since they loose nothing from doing it, they have no reason to not pull it for every one. I did my first test using whois on my computer, which appears to search verisign databases:

    Whois Server Version 2.0

    Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
    with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
    for detailed information.

    No match for “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”.
    >>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Jan 2008 04:20:40 UTC <<<

    NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
    registrar’s sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
    currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
    date of the domain name registrant’s agreement with the sponsoring
    registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar’s Whois database to
    view the registrar’s reported date of expiration for this registration.

    TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois
    database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and
    automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or
    modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry
    Services’ (”VeriSign”) Whois database is provided by VeriSign for
    information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information
    about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not
    guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query, you agree to abide
    by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only
    for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data
    to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
    unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone,
    or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
    that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation,
    repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly
    prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to
    use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or
    query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register
    domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right
    to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure
    operational stability. VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the
    Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign
    reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

    The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
    Registrars.

    Just for reference, there is a six hour time difference between Central (where I am) and UTC. Also, my clocks are in 24 hour time. Anyway, I then went to networksolutions.com and did a search there. It was about 22:23 Central.

    I then got the results. It was marked as available, of course.

    The test begins….

    I tried godaddy first. This test was immediately after the search at 22:25, so I didn’t expect it to change that fast necessarily, but I figure if it was going to happen, it was going to happen soon…

    Whois confirmed the same a minute later…

    No match for “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”.
    >>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Jan 2008 04:26:33 UTC <<<

    Time passed, but still nothing… Godaddy kept on giving me the same page, and about an hour later, whois still said nothing:

    No match for “THISISABOGOUSDOMAIN-NETWORKSOLUTIONSSUCKS.COM”.
    >>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 11 Jan 2008 05:16:42 UTC <<<

    According the the TechCrunch story, they only can keep it for 5 days before they have to pay for it, so it seems like if they can’t get it in an hour, there isn’t much point. It is quite possible that they cut it out as soon as anyone said anything, but that seems dubious. Its all very strange…

    Posted in blogs, internet | 1 Comment

    Explorations of Hello World Perversion

    January 10th, 2008 by knorby

    What follows is probably the most perverse shell script I have ever written. I decided to write a script that somehow implemented Hello World for a bunch of languages. I didn’t include Java, because the installation of java on the machine I wrote this script on was somehow messed up. Plus, Java sucks hard. I didn’t do any javascript either as Rhino was messed up (see last sentence), and spidermonkey wasn’t installed. I included far too many, but I will gladly add more if someone bothers to write some. You can also download the file. Wordpress messed a few things up, which I tried to correct, so download the file copy if you actually want to try thing thing out. Also, you might need to install some stuff unless you are in the UofC CS department Linux clusters. I apologize to the world for what my boredom can cause…


    #!/usr/bin/env bash
    #====================================
    echo "Bash:"
    bash << EOF
    echo "Hello World!"
    EOF
    #====================================
    echo "Python:"
    python << EOF
    print "Hello World!"
    EOF
    #====================================
    echo "C:"
    TMPFILE="/tmp/stupidgcc.c"
    TMPOUTPUT="/tmp/stupidgcc"
    touch $TMPFILE
    cat > $TMPFILE << EOF
    #include <stdio.h>
    int main(){
    printf("Hello World!\n");
    return 0;
    };
    EOF
    gcc -o $TMPOUTPUT $TMPFILE
    $TMPOUTPUT
    rm $TMPFILE $TMPOUTPUT
    #====================================
    echo "Ruby:"
    ruby << EOF
    puts "Hello World!\n"
    EOF
    #====================================
    echo "Perl:"
    perl << EOF
    print "Hello World!\n"
    EOF
    #====================================
    echo "C++:"
    TMPFILE="/tmp/stupidg++.cpp"
    TMPOUTPUT="/tmp/stupidg++"
    touch $TMPFILE
    cat > $TMPFILE << EOF
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;
    int main()
    {
    cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
    return 0;
    }
    EOF
    g++ -o $TMPOUTPUT $TMPFILE
    $TMPOUTPUT
    rm $TMPFILE $TMPOUTPUT
    #================================
    echo "Haskell:"
    ghci -e 'print "Hello World!"'
    #================================
    echo "Awk:"
    echo '' |awk '{ print "Hello World!" }'
    #================================
    echo "Fortran77:"
    TMPFILE="/tmp/stupidFortran.f"
    TMPOUTPUT="/tmp/stupidFortran"
    touch $TMPFILE
    #http://www.roesler-ac.de/wolfram/hello.htm#Fortran77
    cat > $TMPFILE << EOF
    C Hello World in Fortran 77
    PROGRAM HELLO
    PRINT*, 'Hello World!'
    END
    EOF
    f77 -o $TMPOUTPUT $TMPFILE
    $TMPOUTPUT
    rm $TMPFILE $TMPOUTPUT
    #=======================================
    echo "Tcl:"
    tclsh << EOF
    puts "Hello World!"
    EOF
    #=======================================
    echo "Octave:"
    octave -q << EOF
    printf("Hello World!\n");
    EOF

    Posted in Linux, Python, coding, humor, javascript | 6 Comments

     
    Add to Technorati Favorites - Creative Commons License - © 2007 Karl Norby